Monday, February 11, 2019 - 09:36

Botswana Qualifications Authority (BQA) is a parastatal under the Ministry of Tertiary Education Research Science and Technology established by the Botswana Qualifications Authority Act, No 24 of 2013, to:

a. provide for and maintain the National Credit and Qualifications Framework (NCQF);

b. coordinate the education, training and skills development quality assurance system from early childhood to tertiary level (lifelong learning).


The governance structure of BQA provides for a 13 member Board of Directors chaired by an independent person. There are seven committees that deal with specific functions established to facilitate the work of the Board. These are the Qualifications Framework Maintenance Committee, Finance Committee, Risk and Audit Committee, Human Resource Committee, Board Tender Committee, Quality Assurance Committee and Appeals Committee.


To ensure efficiency in the execution of its mandate, the BQA structure has seven departments. These are the Directorate of the Chief Executive Office, Department of the Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Department of Finance, Department of Business Development, Department of Quality Assurance, Department of the National Credit and Qualifications Framework Services, and the Department of Human Resource. According to the BQA Act, the funds of the Authority shall consist of:

a. such monies as may be appropriated by the National Assembly for the purpose of the Authority;

b. such grants and donations as the Authority may receive;

c. such fees as may be charged for services rendered by the Authority; and

d. any income that the Authority may receive from its investments.


The Authority’s financial year begins on 1st April of each year and ends on 31st March of the following year.


Download here